The Camera That Water Doesn’t Kill

I love my Canon T3i.  I mean, I really love my T3i.  So much that I’ve invested a small fortune in external flashes, lenses and bags.  Unfortunately my affection for my T3i means I now live in constant fear that my dear DSLR will meet an untimely fate.  So I wanted to find a point-and-shoot camera I could use with my kids that I wouldn’t be afraid of dropping or getting wet.  Moreover, I wanted a camera that recorded video pretty well so I wouldn’t have to lug around my camera and one of my “flip” style camcorders like my Samsung W200 or Flip Mino HD.

After reading several blogs and reviews on various websites like Amazon, I decided to purchase the Nikon Coolpix AW100 pictured above.  I’ve owned several Nikon cameras and are generally impressed by the quality and capabilities of Nikon products.  I’m still getting the hang of the camera’s quirks.  Reinforcing the camera to withstand considerable shock (by falling) and water definitely has led to compromises on the camera’s optics and images captured by the camera.  However, where the AW100 has really shined so far is in recording video.  Below is a montage of videos I took with the AW100 at an indoor water park.


I’m generally impressed with the video the AW100 takes.  I actually prefer it to video recorded by my W200.  My only concern now is how to take good pictures with the camera.  If anyone has any tips on how to maximize still image performance, please feel free to post them below.

Leave a Reply

